More Cutthroat

Running up to Cutthroat pass is my favorite local run. During and since college, I’ve been really interested in our connection to place and the idea of an intimate relationship to where one lives. The second I came to the Methow I felt a connection to the landscape and wanted to both live in this beautiful place, and really know it. As Barry Lopez so eloquently notes in his essay The American Geographies, from About This Life, few people are actually part of their natural surroundings. To that I can only say that each day, my runs bring me a little closer.

It was pouring on Saturday, so Sam joined Nikki and me on a rare fall outing rather than rollerski for three hours in 38 degree rain. I couldn’t resist going up my favorite trail once again. It’s the epitome of why I live here: wilderness, amazing views, a fun climb, and only a short drive from home. We got up to snow, Nikki gallivanted around, and I got to enjoy what might be the last time I get to run up there before the snow really comes.

snow, hurray!

family picture

It was a good day.

This entry was posted in mountain runs, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

